Home > Discover YCKSS > History



The School was established in 1965 in the same year that Singapore become a Republic. It was built to provide secondary education for the pupils who lived in the Yio Chu Kang area in response to a request made by villagers during a visit by Mr. Lee Kuan Yew, the Prime Minister, to the community. The area at that was a rural farming village and the school began as a Chinese / English integrated school. The Chinese name of the school is Yong Kang Zhong Xue. In 1982, the school was resited to its present prises in Ang Mo Kio. The new premises was opened by Mr Lau Ping Sum, MP for Yio Chu Kang constituency.

Principals of YCKSS
Name of Principal Period
Mr. Cyril Jansen 1965 to 1966
Lim Chi Chee Grayscale.jpgMr. Lim Chi Chee 1966 to 1967
Lai Wen Hwa.jpgMr. Lai Wen Hwa 1967 to 1976
So Bie Leng.jpgMdm So Bie Leng 1976 to 1988
TanAhKiang.jpgMr. Tan Ah Kiang 1988 to 1996
Miss Koh Sauk Keow
1996 to 2001 
Mr. Saminathan Gopal
2001 to 2013
Janice Lim.jpgMdm Janice Heng  2014 to date